Recently, Julie Francis, Senior Program Manager at AST received the Secretary’s Honor Award presented by U.S. Secretary of Energy, Jennifer Granholm for her work with the Federal Consortium for Advanced Batteries (FCAB). This award is the highest form of internal, non-monetary recognition that DOE Federal and contractor employees can receive. They are bestowed on individuals and teams in recognition of service that goes above and beyond and for contributions that have lasting impact on both DOE and on our great Nation.

The FCAB provides a framework to foster executive level strategic alignment, coordination and collaboration across the agencies to establish a domestic battery materials and technologies supply chain that serves commercial and military applications.
Over the past several years, it has been abundantly clear that innovation in high-capacity batteries can fundamentally transform world transportation, energy markets and lead to the birth of new industries.

Geraldine Richmond, Presidential Chair in Science and Professor of Chemistry at the University of Oregon presented this prestigious award to the FCAB team.

Congratulations to Julie Francis along with the other members of FCAB.

Thank you for #EMPOWERING and accelerating the development of a secure domestic industrial base for advanced batteries!

#DOE #FCAB #BatteryTechnology #ASTEMPOWERS #WomenInEnergy